Academic

Feminist Perspectives and Decoloniality: WEAll talk

Tags: event
Published on March 21, 2024

Register here

Join Lebohang Liepollo Pheko and Rosebell Kagumire for a dynamic “Sisters in Conversation” session, exploring decolonial feminism and pathways to economic justice from Africa to the world.

Addressing positionality, our speakers will unravel the complex interplay between local experiences and global discourses. This WEAll talk aims to inspire global participants to ally with decolonial feminist efforts, guided by the insightful contributions of Liepollo and Rosebell.

🗓️ Wednesday 27 March
🕓 4pm UTC, 5pm CET, 6pm SAST 12pm EDT/EST

Rosebell Kagumire (She/Her) is a pan-African feminist writer and activist, and editor at African Feminism. She works at the intersection of media, gender and development. In 2020, she co-edited the book, Challenging Patriarchy: The Role of Patriarchy in the Roll-Back of Democracy. Rosebell is a founding member of the African Feminist Collective on Feminist Informed Policies and a council member at the Nalafem Collective. In 2021, she was recognized by Avance Media as one of the 100 Most Influential Women in Africa.

Lebohang Liepollo Pheko is a senior research fellow and political economist at a think tank called Trade Collective. She is respected as an activist scholar, public intellectual, political economist, international movement builder and Decolonial Afrikan(ist) feminist. A fellow of the Africans Futures Lab, a WEALL ambassador and a member of the Walter and Patricia Commission on Reparations, that is exploring reparations and reparative economics across 12 countries, she leads the South Africa team. Lebohang Liepollo has also co- led two important pieces of work exploring Decolonial Wellbeing Economics across 7 countries. Her areas of research specialisation include international economics in the context of South/North relations, feminist political economics and well being economics, international development, international relations in relation to Afrikan positionality. She is committed to grounding her work at the intersection of rigorous research and grassroots movements.

Secure your spot

Want to join
the discussion?
Let us know what
you would like
to write about!